Your Internet speed can be easily checked by visiting SpeedTest.net and making sure the results match the speed you’re signed up for with FIOS. It’s worth noting that you should only perform a speed test using a computer connected via Ethernet cable since that will be the fastest.

I was able to get the Internet speed on my computers by using a local transfer speed on my home network. When trying to transfer some data between different computers on my network, the speed maxed out at around 11.5 MB/s. That’s megabytes per second.

For a 100 Mbps network, 11.5 MB/s is a very good speed. However, all of my equipment was gigabit enabled, meaning I should get closer to 1000 Mbps in transfer speeds. That means around 125 MB/s. So as you can see, my current speed of 11.5 is less than one tenth the maximum speed for gigabit Ethernet. ..

Cause of Slower Speed

The first reason is that your home was likely wired with coax cabling instead of Ethernet. This type of wiring has a significant impact on your network’s performance, as you’ll never achieve the maximum possible LAN speed or anywhere close to it. ..

If you’re stuck on how to increase your network transfer speeds, read my previous post on understanding network transfer speeds. MoCA 2.0 is the new standard for transferring data, and it’s much faster than MoCA 1.0 or 1.1. MoCA 2.0 can max out at 12.5 MB/s and 1.1 can max out at 21.875 MB/s, so if you’re only using MoCA 1.0 or 1.1, you’re going to be limited in your speed options!

I was having trouble getting my internet speed to stay above 12.5 Mbps, even though my router and computer had gigabit ports. By default, Verizon installs the Actiontec MI424WR router for new customers, even though it’s not the best router they have. I was having trouble getting my internet speed to stay above 12.5 Mbps even though my router and computer had gigabit ports. By default, Verizon installs the Actiontec MI424WR router for new customers, even though it’s not the best router they have.

This router is a great choice for those looking for excellent Internet speeds and maxing out at 100 Mbps. However, it only supports MoCA 1.1 and cannot support higher speeds on the LAN network.

If you have a home media server, streaming movies from your computer or NAS to an HDTV or game console will be much faster and result in smooth playback. I also backup my computers to my home media server to ensure fast and reliable transfers. Slower transfer speeds increase the time needed for backups by hours, which is unacceptable for me. ..

Fix Slow LAN Speed

The Quantum Gateway router is a new model that Verizon has just released. It is a much more powerful and efficient router than the older models that are currently in use. It can handle more traffic and has better security features. If you are forced to use coax cabling, upgrading your router to the Quantum Gateway will help improve your overall internet experience.

To get the Quantum Gateway router for free, you need to upgrade your Internet speed by one plan. If you do this, they usually give you the router for free. I upgraded my speed to 100/100 and asked if they could throw in the router too for free. They did. ..

Verizon is not going to upgrade you to a higher speed if you only ask for a lower speed. They will give you the new router for free and then you simply reduce your speed to 50/50 two days later.

The Actiontec router has several advantages over the router that I purchased, but for me, the biggest draw was the MoCA 2.0 support. Once you have this router installed, how do you get MoCA 2.0 speeds on your other devices? ..

I had to buy a MoCA 2.0 adapter because my house is connected via coax everywhere. The one I purchased was from Actiontec. It’s a MoCA 2.0 Coax to Ethernet adapter and it’s pretty expensive.

I connected this adapter to the coax in my wall and connected the Ethernet out to a switch, which was connected to all my other devices like computers, etc. So what kind of speed improvement did I see? Well, baseline MoCA 2.0 can give you speeds up to 400 Mbps, which translates into about 50 MB/s. In my own tests, the speed increased to about 54 MB/s. This was almost five times faster than my previous speed! ..

There is an enhanced MoCA 2.0 speed, but it requires a bonded coax connection. The G1100 router only supports MoCA 2.0 not bonded MoCA 2.0, so you can’t get the higher speeds.

Even Faster Speeds?

To get even faster speeds than 50 MB/s, you will need to switch your Verizon ONT from coax to Ethernet and then get some Ethernet ports installed in your house. ..

To get the best possible speeds when transferring files over an Ethernet connection, you’ll need to switch your home’s ONT (Optical Network Terminal) to Ethernet. This is a relatively easy process, and you can even do it yourself if you have some basic knowledge of networking. Once your ONT is switched to Ethernet, you can expect transfer speeds of up to 90+ MB/s. If you have any questions about this process, please feel free to comment below! ..